Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Paper Mario TTYD File Research: samp
So... you might or might not have noticed the other day that I posted in this thread for about 5 or 10 minutes before I deleted my post. Basically I felt like I was onto something but because I didn't really have much of anything yet, it seemed very awkward and the mounting anxiety compelled me to delete my post until I collected my thoughts for something with marginally more substance.

I figured I might as well make a thread of my own here in the hopes that I might find something and thus illuminate the otherwise seemingly undocumented .samp file, specifically the one in Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door. It's also to basically ask for help from people who might be better at reading patterns in hex files than me if/when I get stuck Ninja

My main problem is that I have no experience with reverse-engineering file formats so this is my first time. As a result, expect me to stumble over myself trying to figure out basic things like hex representations of integers and floats along with basic header patterns! Who knows, maybe I'll learn something from this. That'll be great if I do! 'o'

So in the basics as people figured, there are sound effects in the pmario.samp file located in the TTYD ISO's /sound/proj/ folder. I've confirmed this by importing the pmario.samp file as Raw Data in Audacity. The only thing is that when I've imported the data, there is this awful LOUD, SCREECHY NOISE PERMEATING THE WHOLE FILE SO IT'S NOT USABLE FOR ANYTHING BUT DAMAGING YOUR EARS. On the plus side though, I did noticeably hear Bowser/Mario/Peach's voice clips past the mid point in the noise! Based on other docs I've read, the format might be a custom-ish 4-bit ADPCM format used for other things in the 'cube like streamed audio. Makes sense.

The format I used to import in Audacity to hear the sound files in the horrible screeching fashion was 8-bit PCM, Big Endian, Mono @ 11025Hz.