Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thoughts on webcomics
So, I used to be big on webcomics when I was younger, and I kinda want to get back into them.
I'm interested in stuff with plot right now, but I've been feeling disappointed with what I've been finding. I wanted to know if anyone had similar or differing experiences, and if anyone might have something to share that I haven't seen yet.

Some examples of stuff I've tried and haven't liked (that I'm sure at least some people will know of) are below:

http://www.avasdemon.com/pages.php?page=0001
http://dresdencodak.com/2010/06/03/dark-science-01/
http://cucumber.gigidigi.com/cq/page-1/

My major issue with these types of comics is typically the characters. They often act strictly according to a stereotype, which is pretty thoughtless writing. When characters don't play with expectations, they're boring and flat outside of whatever "cute" appeal they have for the first few pages. And that's fine, until you realize how many pages these comics have.

I really can't care about characters who only seem to exist to move the plot along. I feel put off when the whole cast of characters don't have something resembling "genuine" internal workings (believable/dynamic emotions, thoughts, concerns, etc.), because then the only somewhat interesting thing about them is how they affect things externally. But what good is it to have some interesting things happen if I don't care about the people they're happening to?

It's not even that these comics are really "bad", it's that they're incredibly unremarkable. Ava's Demon gets some points for quirky visual stuff sometimes, but I feel no level of true engagement when I read it. I don't wanna open up a comic and then feel like I'm just going through the motions over and over again.

For an example of something I like, I was shown Gunnerkrigg Court not too long ago. I think it's great, but I know I'm going to catch up to the updates, so I want to find other stuff to read too.