The VG Resource
Pokémon Model Ripping Project - Printable Version

+- The VG Resource (https://www.vg-resource.com)
+-- Forum: The Resources (https://www.vg-resource.com/forum-109.html)
+--- Forum: The Models Resource (https://www.vg-resource.com/forum-111.html)
+---- Forum: Project Organization (https://www.vg-resource.com/forum-119.html)
+---- Thread: Pokémon Model Ripping Project (/thread-25872.html)



RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Random Talking Bush - 02-05-2022

(02-05-2022, 10:27 PM)agnos Wrote: the bntx extraction is making a corrupted dds file here, can anyone help me please!?
Hrm, they shouldn't be corrupted. Is the program you're using capable of importing DX10 DDS files? Either way, try using Noesis to preview those DDS files. If they show up correctly, then you can convert them to either PNG or TGA and work from there.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - FreohrWeohnataKausta - 02-05-2022

(02-05-2022, 10:27 PM)agnos Wrote: the bntx extraction is making a corrupted dds file here, can anyone help me please!?

Use Noesis to convert them into a PNG by using the batch extract:

$inpath$\$inname$out.$outext$
Use this output path so that it doesn't extract into another folder.

(02-05-2022, 10:53 PM)Random Talking Bush Wrote:
(02-05-2022, 10:27 PM)agnos Wrote: the bntx extraction is making a corrupted dds file here, can anyone help me please!?
Hrm, they shouldn't be corrupted. Is the program you're using capable of importing DX10 DDS files? Either way, try using Noesis to preview those DDS files. If they show up correctly, then you can convert them to either PNG or TGA and work from there.

I've been using QuickBMS and it's always outputting corrupted DDS files. they're viewable in Noesis and from there I use the Batch Extract to get them all converted into a PNG.

A side note is how can i get QuickBMS to extract into the same folder as the input, without it creating separate folders for each texture? it's really annoying to move them out every time i extract them.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Random Talking Bush - 02-05-2022

(02-05-2022, 11:35 PM)FreohrWeohnataKausta Wrote: Use Noesis to convert them into a PNG by using the batch extract:

$inpath$\$inname$out.$outext$
Use this output path so that it doesn't extract into another folder.
You'll actually want to omit the first "out" from that and make it the following:
Code:
$inpath$\$inname$.$outext$
That way, you'll have filenames that match the respective DDS like "pm0025_00_00_body_a_alb.png", instead of "pm0025_00_00_body_a_albout.png".

(02-05-2022, 11:35 PM)FreohrWeohnataKausta Wrote: I've been using QuickBMS and it's always outputting corrupted DDS files. they're viewable in Noesis and from there I use the Batch Extract to get them all converted into a PNG.

A side note is how can i get QuickBMS to extract into the same folder as the input, without it creating separate folders for each texture? it's really annoying to move them out every time i extract them.
Thinking about it again, it's very possible I might not have set some bytes in the header correctly all this time, and seeing as how nothing I've used had any issues with it, that might explain it. I blame all the duct tape I used to get that script in working condition.

And it's actually pretty easy to make it output to the same folder, for the simplest approach to that (literally a one-character change), near the beginning of the script you'll see this section:
Code:
get PATH basename
string PATH += /
getarray BRTISTART 0 i
string PATH += STRNAME

You can remove the + from that:
Code:
string PATH += STRNAME
...to get the following:
Code:
string PATH = STRNAME
This will override the "append to subfolder" approach and make them export to the same location as the BNTX or BFRES.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - FreohrWeohnataKausta - 02-06-2022

(02-05-2022, 11:55 PM)Random Talking Bush Wrote:
(02-05-2022, 11:35 PM)FreohrWeohnataKausta Wrote: Use Noesis to convert them into a PNG by using the batch extract:

$inpath$\$inname$out.$outext$
Use this output path so that it doesn't extract into another folder.
You'll actually want to omit the first "out" from that and make it the following:
Code:
$inpath$\$inname$.$outext$
That way, you'll have filenames that match the respective DDS like "pm0025_00_00_body_a_alb.png", instead of "pm0025_00_00_body_a_albout.png".

(02-05-2022, 11:35 PM)FreohrWeohnataKausta Wrote: I've been using QuickBMS and it's always outputting corrupted DDS files. they're viewable in Noesis and from there I use the Batch Extract to get them all converted into a PNG.

A side note is how can i get QuickBMS to extract into the same folder as the input, without it creating separate folders for each texture? it's really annoying to move them out every time i extract them.
Thinking about it again, it's very possible I might not have set some bytes in the header correctly all this time, and seeing as how nothing I've used had any issues with it, that might explain it. I blame all the duct tape I used to get that script in working condition.

And it's actually pretty easy to make it output to the same folder, for the simplest approach to that (literally a one-character change), near the beginning of the script you'll see this section:
Code:
get PATH basename
string PATH += /
getarray BRTISTART 0 i
string PATH += STRNAME

You can remove the + from that:
Code:
string PATH += STRNAME
...to get the following:
Code:
string PATH = STRNAME
This will override the "append to subfolder" approach and make them export to the same location as the BNTX or BFRES.


ah ye- in my latest extraction i did
Code:
$inpath$\$inname$_out.$outext$
might do that in later extraction, thanks


New Question! where do i find that? i'm still somewhat new to QuickBMS, and only recently i've been trying to figure stuff out.

I put my export stuff into a .bat file with this command stuff:

Code:
quickbms.exe -F "*.bntx" Switch_BNTX.bms "G:\pkmn\PLA-Trainers\chara\data\pc" ""

and so I have no idea where to find that in the script of whatever.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Random Talking Bush - 02-06-2022

(02-06-2022, 12:07 AM)FreohrWeohnataKausta Wrote: New Question! where do i find that? i'm still somewhat new to QuickBMS, and only recently i've been trying to figure stuff out.
You can just open up the respective .BMS file in a text editor like Notepad++, and line 216 would be the one you'd need to change. Or you can just download and use this pre-adjusted version instead. Tongue
https://mega.nz/file/XtwUXC7B#axsHEZyZ640hktYHDiZkqfKjEOHdR1o5nkGJjv_ZXG4


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - FreohrWeohnataKausta - 02-06-2022

(02-06-2022, 12:17 AM)Random Talking Bush Wrote:
(02-06-2022, 12:07 AM)FreohrWeohnataKausta Wrote: New Question! where do i find that? i'm still somewhat new to QuickBMS, and only recently i've been trying to figure stuff out.
You can just open up the respective .BMS file in a text editor like Notepad++, and line 216 would be the one you'd need to change. Or you can just download and use this pre-adjusted version instead. Tongue
https://mega.nz/file/XtwUXC7B#axsHEZyZ640hktYHDiZkqfKjEOHdR1o5nkGJjv_ZXG4

Ah, good to know for future reference, and thanks! Now, folders for individual files will no longer bother me. now, time to go re-export the entirety of the player outfits and all of the pokemon


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - ZeldaOfTriforce - 02-06-2022

Is it on purpose that gfbmdls exported from switch toolbox aren't support by your tool? I am trying to extract maps and none are in the files in the op


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Random Talking Bush - 02-06-2022

(02-06-2022, 02:26 AM)ZeldaOfTriforce Wrote: Is it on purpose that gfbmdls exported from switch toolbox aren't support by your tool? I am trying to extract maps and none are in the files in the op
It definitely wasn't broken intentionally, the same kind of thing happened with my Smash Ultimate importer earlier before I fixed it there. When working with the formats originally, I didn't know as much as to how the headers were set up. Switch Toolbox structures those differently for its generated GFBMDL files, so while the game reads those just fine, my script it expects things to be set up in a specific manner and they're just different enough to throw it off (I already added a hacky fix to make Sword/Shield models work instead of rewriting things there, which was definitely a mistake). At some point I'll rewrite the GFBMDL portion of my script using my new knowledge from working with the TRMDL files, and I'll have that issue fixed.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - agnos - 02-06-2022

(02-05-2022, 10:45 PM)DogToon64 Wrote: Have you tried extracting the BNTX file with Switch Toolbox? It seems to work fine for me.

Im trying typlhosion, the collors are gold and gray, I'm starting this just now, never didi before can someone help me plz!?

https://imgur.com/a/1UdW8FM

https://imgur.com/a/2LhnZIi

noesis shows the same textures, that another programs shows....

https://imgur.com/a/2LhnZIi


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - FreohrWeohnataKausta - 02-06-2022

(02-06-2022, 12:21 PM)agnos Wrote:
(02-05-2022, 10:45 PM)DogToon64 Wrote: Have you tried extracting the BNTX file with Switch Toolbox? It seems to work fine for me.

Im trying typlhosion, the collors are gold and gray, I'm starting this just now, never didi before can someone help me plz!?

https://imgur.com/a/1UdW8FM

https://imgur.com/a/2LhnZIi

noesis shows the same textures, that another programs shows....

https://imgur.com/a/2LhnZIi


Okay, in the second link's second image, the reason why it's white and gray, is because that an AO texture- Ambient Occlusion. the reason why it's that way is because it's gives the textures permanent shadows in places- i explained this in an earlier post: https://www.vg-resource.com/thread-25872-post-671598.html#pid671598

And the first image in the second link is the normal texture, it gives it fake extra geometry. though this one is a broken one and needs blue to make it look good.

and for the Alb (albedo) texture in the first link, All of the pokemon from Legends Arceus uses a new setup which I like to call "Color Assignment" which means they don't have colors baked onto the albedo, and instead the colors have to be assigned manually or through some sort of program. the MSK/LYM is the texture that assigns the spots where color goes.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - agnos - 02-06-2022

omg, so hard to me... ty btw


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - FreohrWeohnataKausta - 02-06-2022

I have uploaded a video to Youtube on how to convert and fix up the Legends Arceus Pokemon:

https://youtu.be/Ewy5w3Nj_NA


Here's the Typhlosion white outline fix that I didn't do in the tutorial:
https://imgur.com/a/iFS54EL


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Random Talking Bush - 02-06-2022

Hopefully this'll be the last set of fixes I'll need to do for the script now:
Code:
Fixed models with more than 65536 vertices on a single mesh group (e.g. objects_area04_building01) failing to import. (Thanks, New3DsSuchti!)
Fixed trainer models erroring in non-ancient 3DS Max versions when importing out of the intended order. (Thanks, FreohrWeohnataKausta!)
Added an option to "simplify" materials upon importing, to assist with using the Render to Texture function to re-bake colourized Pokémon textures.

https://mega.nz/file/GkwF1QiK#VuNPb2qIQ-PAuCTp09VQlpAyYWKAhrQofo6ijdTK24c

Next update I'll be giving the other half of the script a bit of cleanup.


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Zero-Chan - 02-06-2022

(02-06-2022, 04:02 PM)Random Talking Bush Wrote: Hopefully this'll be the last set of fixes I'll need to do for the script now:
Code:
Fixed models with more than 65536 vertices on a single mesh group (e.g. objects_area04_building01) failing to import. (Thanks, New3DsSuchti!)
Fixed trainer models erroring in non-ancient 3DS Max versions when importing out of the intended order. (Thanks, FreohrWeohnataKausta!)
Added an option to "simplify" materials upon importing, to assist with using the Render to Texture function to re-bake colourized Pokémon textures.

https://mega.nz/file/GkwF1QiK#VuNPb2qIQ-PAuCTp09VQlpAyYWKAhrQofo6ijdTK24c

Next update I'll be giving the other half of the script a bit of cleanup.

Works like a charm, thanks a lot! : D
[Image: unknown.png]


RE: Pokémon 3DS/Switch Model Ripping Project - Amalgam Wildcard - 02-06-2022

Can someone explain to me how the BDSP folder works in comparison to the other folders uploaded? Or maybe I'm missing something? It's full of "FILE" files

Also, FreohrWeohnataKausta, thanks for that video! I've definitely been having issues with the Legends: Arceus folder as well so I'll definitely have to study that video a bit. I know you're using Blender for your video, but I'm definitely curious if that can logically cross over to UE4 and how materials work there (It'd definitely save me a step if it does, but I'll definitely give that video a watch... probably multiple times haha)