The VG Resource

Full Version: New to spriting
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm somewhat new to spriting and I'm having a hard time finding a style to try to get into the groove of spriting. Where should I start?
dont try to have a style
stupidest thing you can do as a beginner

although if i read that wrong and youre just looking for a style to emulate, look for an artist you like, or a game you like, and try to make something in that style
Try and start with an 8 bit style and then gradually learn shading techniques.
see now i disagree there

as simple as 8bit looks, it's a very complex style that takes much more knowledge than something you can create at any other size without a color limit
mainly because it can't be created at any given size(without tiling anyways), and you're limited to 4 colors per 16x16 tile
If you wanna be taken seriously, avoid edits as much as you can, if not 100%. The sprite edits that I take the LEAST seriously are Mario (Mostly M&L RPG styles), Sonic (mostly Advance styles), and Megaman (mostly Zero styles).

And if you make original characters, spriting them in another style is usually a one-way ticket to instant ridicule.
Try/Start out with basic styles such as SMB3 SNES. Its your basic platforming style in which many characters/enemies use Angle and point of view rotations. Its also a good way to see how only 3 frames of walking can give very fluid animation.
I gradually went spriting in harder styles such to achieve such as Sonic (Genesis)
(And no, not my Genesis Mario. :/, it was other stuff.)
Gradually, you'll get inspiration from other games, and maybe come up with your own style.

Atleast, thats how I did it.
(04-05-2010, 10:00 PM)sweet georgia brown Wrote: [ -> ]see now i disagree there

as simple as 8bit looks, it's a very complex style that takes much more knowledge than something you can create at any other size without a color limit