Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Extracting Models from PS1 game Azumanga Donjyara Daioh
Shocked 
Hello!

I am extremely new to model ripping, so pardon me if the answer to this is easier than I thought, but I'm having a lot of trouble extracting the 3D models from a specific Japanese puzzle game by the name of Azumanga Donjyara Daioh, developed by Ganbarion.

I have used various tools, including psxmultirip, psxprev, and JPSXdec and each time Ive tried to extract resources from the game using any of these programs, I am always given the same result: a bunch of texture files (none of which are textures for the models, most of them are just parts of backgrounds and a few small assorted sprites), pretty much all of the game's audio files, and the game's intro cutscene, but no models. The only software for model ripping Ive seen that I haven'd used yet was one called ninjaripper, but it seems like that software doesnt exactly work with emulation, at least for PS1. I am willing to try it though.

I'm not asking anyone to rip these models for me or anything, and I'd actually prefer to go through most of the process myself if I can, because I'd like to learn more about model ripping. I just want someone to give me some help with extracting the models from this obscure little gem.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Thanked by:
Hey! Quick update even though nobody probably cares enough about this, but I found a way to get ninjaripper working with epsxe, though I found another roadblock.

Ninjaripper doesnt like the playstation 1, like at all. Not only does it extract ALL data on the screen as individual meshes (resulting in about 3000 rip files) but it exports it all as kind of a flat screenshot of what appears on screen. Below is what it looked like in blender compared to about what I took a snapshot of.

and here is the result of another test a friend of mine did using her (much faster) computer