Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
I have a mission; but how is my organization?
Hey guys! I'm... well, not necessarily new to this site, but this is my first time actually contributing, because I noticed:

"Damn, Deoxys, where do you think all those Mystery Dungeon tilesets went? Look at the effort that went into ripping all the Pokemon! Wouldn't you think they'd do the same for the dungeon tiles?"

So that what I've come here to do--to attempt to do what seemingly so few people have done before and actually rip the meat and potatoes out of the Pokemon Mystery Dungeons--the dungeons!

It's been EIGHT YEARS! Like, holy crap Batman! You'd think people would have noticed these games by now, but still nobody even knows where the 8x8 fog/sandstorm tiles are stored in the tilemaps under the right palettes! Not even I can find them; and you can be sure I'd rip 'em in a heartbeat if I could.

Okay, so now that I have a pretty good preface to this post, here's the real deal: my goal here is to rip every single dungeon tileset from Red/Blue/Time/Darkness/Sky, and doing that will require lots of organization in my spritesheets so that I'm not overwhelmed. Ideally, there could also be a new section created under each game since cutscene backgrounds are definitely different from randomly-generated assortments of tiles. Here's how Beach Cave turned out:

[sheet too wide; here's a link instead http://puu.sh/s9ssP.png]

My format is simple: Have a "key" to the left so that it's clear in what context each tile in that row is to be used, and have the water palette be above some empty space to the left so that I can cookie-cutter in palettes that are really long without having to stretch the canvas (for example, Great Canyon's--that one took a while to do).

However, is anyone bothered by the amount of empty space that my layout of tiles causes?