Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Sprite attempts for indie game of sorts.
I'm kinda okay (Or so to say?) at 8-bit style sprites? I mean, I'm not an absolute artist at it, but I do try.

Either way, I've been working on an 8-bit game or sorts, that somewhat obeys 8-bit limits. (I'm bad with colour limits. I know sprites in NES games can be "stacked" to get more than 3 colours, like how old-school Mega-Man games did, but I don't know for tiles.)

Either way, here are some of my "sprite work".

Assets and such

Player.

[Image: lHt955X.png]

Enemy Space Monkey

[Image: zxGES80.png]

Catus

[Image: TLGOgoP.png]

Tilesets

Desert-thing

[Image: euWL9RM.png]

In-game screenshot/mockup (From beta, so some sprites were different)

[Image: i3sn7Ca.png]

Any suggestions or changes?
I like to make models in my free time. I also make weird games, too.
Thanked by:
The bodies are rather blocky, and some parts change sizes in the animation. I can understand the blockiness for the space suit, but the monkey just looks unnatural. I really like that tileset, though. It's got a lot of dithering which makes it look old-fashioned, but it's not so heavy that I get eye strain looking at it, and the shading is really helpful for giving it a sense of depth.
Thanked by: Joxon
Agree with the shading on the tiles, it is a really nice effect that is often forgotten.

Maybe you can try and round out the space helmet (and accompanying icon on the bottom right interface). One thing that really needs smoothing out is the monkey tail, it needs to have a smoother bend and not have straight lines. Hard to explain, I can draw up an example later if needed.
Thanked by:
Agree with the shading on the tiles, it is a really nice effect that is often forgotten.??
Thanked by:
(04-20-2015, 05:38 AM)cwvicky Wrote: Agree with the shading on the tiles, it is a really nice effect that is often forgotten.??