Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
A Beginner's Journey
I'm a super beginner. I've looked up tutorials before but I feel like none of them are at the insanely low level that I'm at, all of them seem to assume I understand things like proper shading. I'm better than I was years ago, I guess, but I haven't really practiced much because I've felt like I've had no idea how to improve.

Anyway, I've finally bitten the bullet and decided to just try. So, I give you my first, full, scratch sprite. (that I'm not totally ashamed of, haha)

I know it's pretty subpar, I was just hoping for basic comments/criticism, anything that'll help me improve this sprite or that'll help my next sprite be better. This (just spriting and taking criticism from people) is really the last thing I can think of to allow me to improve because as I was saying, tutorials seem to assume I can figure out certain things that for whatever reason, I can't figure out.

Thanks for your help. Genki ^_^
Thanked by:
First off welcome to the wonderful world of Spriting *throws confetti everywhere*

First off lets start with something simple and talk about the shading.
Right now your character has two different sources of light, one on the left and one in front of him.

When doing top down perspective sprites the light source should usually come from the top, so the hair piece (?) should have darker colors on its side.

Places the light cant reach, like the neck should also have a dark color around the area too.

hope this helps.
[Image: JSW7XoM.png][Image: M9AUckK.png]
Thanked by: recme
(05-27-2014, 11:56 PM)Omega Wrote: First off welcome to the wonderful world of Spriting *throws confetti everywhere*

First off lets start with something simple and talk about the shading.
Right now your character has two different sources of light, one on the left and one in front of him.