Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Art program to create custom sprites?
I'm very new to spriting and haven't a clue where to start. Any tips and program suggestions on what to draw it in?

I'm not planning on doing anything super-complex, just want to make some custom sprites for a Mario romhack.
Thanked by:
ms paint is fine if you're old school, photoshop's great because of the extremely advance layer-based editing and transparency system, gimp is like baby's first photoshop and it's free, and if you're a loser you can use paint.net.
[Image: CQLlJY0.png]
Thanked by:
For the most part MS Paint is sufficient, since it lets you edit pixels. I heard people talking about how XP's version is the best one, if you have another version of Windows you can probably download it somewhere.

Some people also use GraphicsGale, never used it myself but apparently it's great for spriting.

GIMP and Photoshop are pretty much the same, to be honest I would only buy Photoshop if there were some specific features that I wanted to use. But most of the time, in terms of layers and all that GIMP should be sufficient. So yeah, if you want to work in layers or be able to move stuff around easily GIMP is good (it's particularly handy when making sprite sheets).

And then there's also Paint.NET, as mentioned above. Contrary to unpopular belief, it's just as fitting for non-losers as it is for losers. Seriously though, lots of people here use it too. Not sure how it is for spriting specifically, but I think for the most part it comes into the same category as GIMP and PS (although I think it's more directed at image creation, whereas the others are focused more on image manipulation).

All that said, I use GIMP for all my image work, but I'm not a spriter. If you're not looking to make anything too complex, as you said, you can probably work well enough with any of these.

As for tips, I'll leave that to the experts Wink