Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
List of Known File Formats
I didn't see anything like this in this section at all, so I thought I could start it.

This list here will contain all the known sound file extensions, separated by videogame consoles, and its corresponding converters.

Since I have no knowledge about sound ripping, I'll need help from seasoned rippers. This way, we'll have a quick, accessible list and make ripping progress faster. Post the file extensions, which console uses it and its converter.

Known File Formats
(recommended converter in parenthesis)

Nintendo DS
Computer
Nintendo 64
Nintendo GameCube
Nintendo Wii
Spriter Gors】【Bandcamp】【Twitter】【YouTube】【Tumblr】【Portifolio
If you like my C+C, please rate me up. It helps me know I'm helping!
[Image: deT1vCJ.png]
Good idea, I'm sure this thread will save time and trouble for lots of people.

.sad, NDS, VGSC
.swav, NDS, VGSC
.ogg, PC/Computer, VGSC

I'm saying VGSC because I made it, and thus use it, but there's probably some others out there. Especially for .ogg, it's like super common. However VGSC works as fine as anything so there's no reason not to use it.
You may have a fresh start any moment you choose, for this thing that we call "failure" is not the falling down, but the staying down. -Mary Pickford
Thanked by: Garamonde
I don't know what kinds of formats this supports specifically (you could list it as "various" formats or something) but this tool lets you rip sounds from many Nintendo 64 games. I haven't tried it yet myself but I think it's most likely invaluable and deserves to be posted somewhere. Someone else used it and said it works well.

Otherwise, the only other thing I can think of at the moment is the .DSP format, mainly used by Nintendo GameCube games AFAIK, and can be easily opened and converted with Audacity (I believe there are even batch conversion options if you know how to use them).
[Image: sweet-capn-cakes-deltarune.gif]
Thanked by: