Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Newbie Here
Hi Spriter's Resource, I'm going to try to learn to make good pixel art.
Starting off with trying to shade basic shapes and picking color palletes then moving forward.

[Image: 2hek87n.png]

Edit: Better? [Image: 22m9me.png]
Thanked by:
It would help the sphere if your lineart was actually circular. Before you start shading, you have to make sure your lineart is perfect, and not just a rough estimation.
Thanked by:
Your colours are kind of dull.

It's fine if that ball isn't a perfect sphere, but bear in mind that the shadows across it will follow the contours of the object. There's also the matter of the way the highlights and underlighting are represented so it actually feels like a material, rather than several flat blocks of colour on top of each other.

From the Spriting Dictionary thread:
[Image: material.gif]
See how the size and spacing of the shades changes depending on the material?
Specs 'n' Headphones has been revamped! Check it, yo.
[Image: 10y3mgj.png][Image: groove-1.gif]
Thanks to Pik and Solink; they are sexy people. Heart
Thanked by:
Okay, thanks for the help. I wasn't really going for a certain material at the beginning, but now I'm going for more of a glossy, plastic, kinda bubbly thing. Also, changed the shading pattern.
[Image: 10durlj.png]
Thanked by:
The sphere looks much better. The main highlight should look a lot rounder though, it has a flat edge that looks a little wierd.
Any noise annoys an oyster, but a noisy noise annoys an oyster more.
Thanked by:
The shading's much better (but the curves need to be a lot smoother; go to the Dictionary thread again and look at the 'jagged' entry); but those colours are kinda wank.