The VG Resource
Your Initial Difficulty Choice? - Printable Version

+- The VG Resource (https://www.vg-resource.com)
+-- Forum: Discussion Boards (https://www.vg-resource.com/forum-133.html)
+--- Forum: Gaming Discussion (https://www.vg-resource.com/forum-135.html)
+--- Thread: Your Initial Difficulty Choice? (/thread-26355.html)

Pages: 1 2

Your Initial Difficulty Choice? - Koh - 12-15-2014

Relevant video.

But really, when you first play a game, what difficulty setting do you start with, if you're given a choice?

If it's a series I'm totally new to, I'll always start on Normal, since as a game developer myself, I know that Normal represents the intended learning and difficulty curve set by the developers.  If I'm already familiar with a series, like Puyo Puyo, Mario, or Zelda, I'll always start on the hardest difficulty setting, because I won't be challenged otherwise, and will get bored.

There are games that totally mock the player for playing on anything easier than Normal.  There are also games that totally deny access to content on easier settings.  I can understand the latter, and have played a few games that end prematurely on the easier settings.  I'm okay with that, since those aren't the difficulty curves the developers intended to reward with the shiny things.  The former, I just find hilarious when they get creative with it.

RE: Your Initial Difficulty Choice? - Kosheh - 12-15-2014

(12-15-2014, 10:05 AM)Koh Wrote: But really, when you first play a game, what difficulty setting do you start with, if you're given a choice?

It really depends on my confidence with the genre. >:

I'll usually pick Normal if it's something I've just picked up and doesn't really require you to play on Easy, i.e. Kingdom Hearts, cool action game (like No More Heroes, or something) and then replay it on Hard for any extra cool things I couldn't unlock on a Normal playthrough.