The VG Resource

Full Version: Custom Landscape Tileset
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am planning to make a game, but I really desire that the game is 100% custom, and so I am trying to make the graphics for it. However, I'm not really an expert on making tilesets, and before I continue churning out more shapes in the same style, I'd like to receive some feedback on if I'm making them correctly. Overall, I'm basing them off of Pokemon.

[Image: landscapespritesheetver.gif]

EDIT: The above is outdated, scroll down for the newer version:
looks good, but the mountain doesn''t fit well in style...
The rock is too jagged at the edges, and does not fit with the grass. I'm not liking the dark color of the rock, and the light color of the grass. It doesn't fit with the setting.
I think he should have the rock lighter-colored, like CeeY said, and also have the grass cover up the edges or the rock.
Okay, I gave the rocks a different palette and added a temporary shadow to see if it looks better (will carefully make one later). In my opinion, it looks better, but it is severely lacking a clear-cut rock shape.

[Image: screenshotpaletteswap2.gif]

So I quickly made another rock style with fewer colors so I can get a better shape; as of now, it needs more colors for shading to work, but overall, it seems like it would make better rocks than the previous ones after some work.

[Image: rocky2stylespritesheetv.gif]

Should I work off of the latter rocks and add in more colors, or should I try and cut-out more simple geometrical shapes into the first one?
I like the simple rock better. It might help you out if you made a few tiles that converted from the mountain to grass (Idea: a square of grass with some boulders strewn about). The mountain bursting out of the grass looks wrong. Your shading almost makes it look worse, like it is floating....