The VG Resource

Full Version: BYOND
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
is this even worth trying to get into
because I want to make multiplayer games but this looks like total crap
I've seen some amazing games, but the program is hard and inflexible as hell
I'd say the opposite. I've seen some crap games, but it's extremely flexible.

With the exception of 3d games, this system is limitless. If you know how to program it, that is. I do; I've been doing it for five years. It's one of the few things I'm actually great at. If I set my mind to it I can create a decent game in a matter of a week.
are you limited to a byond server or can you host your own
(08-02-2009, 10:50 PM)Vipershark Wrote: [ -> ]are you limited to a byond server or can you host your own

I'm fairly sure you can host your own

and Mewthriii, I could NOT make heads or tails of that program and I could not get it to do ANYTHING I wanted

:L
(08-03-2009, 03:05 PM)oB2Ko Mario Wrote: [ -> ]I'm fairly sure you can host your own

and Mewthriii, I could NOT make heads or tails of that program and I could not get it to do ANYTHING I wanted

:L

Did you check out Zilal's beginner tutorial? That can teach you almost anything you need to know.

I'll admit, it is a tad unorthodox, but if you can figure it out, it's easy to get used to.
I checked out one beginner tutorial, but again it was inflexible

and I couldn't piece anything together :<
Dear lord I hope you didn't try to code it with C! DDDDDDDDVery Sad

It does have it's own language which is much like python, but slightly different. And it compiles resource files itself, so all you have to do is link to the file using icon='', or icon_state="" for icon states.

It's not inflexible, you're just being stubborn. Though I'll admit, learning BYOND is the hardest thing in the world if you've worked with other languages before it.