The VG Resource

Full Version: Copic markers
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been searching for something good to color my art with that's not techincal like GIMP(I'm not good with that type of stuff and I'd rather do it traditional) so I don't have to use pastel penicl colors anymore. They're great, but not exactly what I'm looking for and I'm running out of them. I'm stuck with crappy colors at the moment. Then, I ran into Copic markers on deviantart.
[Image: copic_marker_set2.jpg]

The point of this topic: I was wondering if anyone here has them and if they like them. I saw videos of people coloring with them and they look incredible and I'm really interested in getting them but I heard they're pricey.

And if you do have them, what color markers do you recommend getting? Like for skin, vibrant effect, metal, and what not.
Thanks!
Interesting topic. I've never tried them myself, since I'm still trying to get used to Prisma Pens.
They produce watercolor-like effects though, so yeah, I'd want to hear about them too.
I've only ever heard praise for them, but have never used them or seen them in use in person, so I ultimately have no ability to make suggestions.

I gave up on colouring traditionally when people had to keep telling me to use yellow instead of orange and to use red instead of pink...
Personally they work great for me.
I haven't really seen enough of your art to comment on this but here is a general tip:

DO NOT BUY THE EXPENSIVE THINGS UNLESS YOU ARE A GENERALLY PROFICIENT ARTIST.

I spent a lot of money on some very nice paper and very nice pencils and very nice inking pens when I was an absolute beginner and it was a waste of money, because I wasn't getting even CLOSE to using them properly. If you're not going to put these to good use do not get them.