The VG Resource

Full Version: Ripping Getter Robo Daikessen (PS1)'s elusive 3D models?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello! I'm very new to 3D model ripping; my experience lies mostly in the sprite ripping field.

I've been attempting to rip Getter Robo Daikessen's 3D models with very little success; since it's a PS1 game, there's no standardized procedure I could follow to extract its meshes; the best I could do is follow some of the steps linked here

I first attempted to run both the game's .bin and its extracted files through PSXPrev, with unsuccessful results both times (all that I could export from the program was some sort of 2D bar? Very bizarre).

Then I ran the game through NO$PSX, played up to a point where one of the game's models was on screen (the Eagle unit's model, to be precise) and looked at some of the poly's positions inside the emulator's VRAM viewer. However, when opening the game's .bin in HxD, I couldn't find any match- I believe the meshes are compressed in some way.

Since I've found basically no documentation about how to decompress 3D PS1 models, I've gotten stuck. If any experienced ripper would like to help, I'd gladly accept any tips!  

Thank you very much!

UPDATE: I've begun attempting a better way to rip the models without using NO$PSX; that being ripping them from the disc's files. 

Getter Robo Daikessen's disc contains a .vfs (which stands for Virtual File System) which contains references to .bin and .pac files. The .pac extension was also used in Thunder Force V, which was also made by Technosoft, and a .pac extractor for TFV does exist, so at least there's that!