The VG Resource

Full Version: Droe's sprites. Check the newest post! CC always appreciated.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello! I've been quite the lurker here on this website, and I finally decided to share some of my work here!
I've been spriting for about 4 1/2 years now, and I want to believe I've made progress.
I don't quite understand this website's posting settings so I might have to make a giant wall of images, so sorry!
Fire Emblem
[Image: large_by_droe747-dbwv476.png]Robin
[Image: large2_by_droe747-dbwv46a.png]Azura
[Image: large_by_droe747-dbx64rq.png]Lucina
[Image: mnfcorrinlarge_by_droe747-dbx64z7.png]Corrin
Doki Doki Liturature Club!
[Image: doki_doki__by_droe747-dbx26dx.png]
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
[Image: woods2_by_droe747-dbwv2ya.png]
RWBY:
[Image: roobi_by_droe747-dbwv1hy.png]
There is a lot more than just these, but these are my best work IMO
Constructive criticism appreciated!
My suspicion is that for some sprites, for instance on clothing and hair, you are not using a 1 pixel brush of solid colour, but transparent brushes/burn tool to add darker areas to a sprite? Sprites should always be done with 1 pixel solid brushes. Shades should be picked manually and applied in the same fashion.

Some parts of your sprites have these issues, while others do not. For instance, Azura's face is just one pink, as it should be + 1 darker shade. Azura's hair has more than 8 colours of blue, but really only 2 can be detected because they are all so similar. From what I can tell, you created the darker "shading" on the hair with the process described above.
(12-21-2017, 08:00 PM)Silversea Wrote: [ -> ]Some sprites, for instance on clothing and hair, you are not using a 1 pixel brush of solid colour, but transparent brushes/burn tool to add darker areas to a sprite?
Thank you for the reply!
Yeah, I do shading with a 1-pixel brush of a transparent black to do shading.