The VG Resource

Full Version: my SMD hell
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I'm pretty much self-taught when it comes to 3D modeling and animating, and I love using the modeler's resource to take pokemon models and teach myself the basic mechanics by manipulating them. Recently, Sun and Moon models have been coming out and I really wanna play around with animations. I use Blender, so I downloaded the toolkit that allows me to use SMD. But every time I load the smd. file in, the armature and model become a mess! I can tell some basic poses that are trying to happen because I know the game well enough, but the body is all contorted and the fingers are often straight-up broken. I've experienced this on the Skull Grunt Male and Female models. In fact, when working on the Male Grunt I used the smd file that is not in the animations folder, and a 3d model for the female grunt appeared. Below will be some images of my personal hell if they can fit. Someone save me from this.

FEMALE MODEL 

[Image: tumblr_oienq9Wex41tlgsf4o1_540.png]
(Normal T-Pose Female Grunt)

[Image: tumblr_oienq9Wex41tlgsf4o2_540.png]
When paired with anim_0.smd

[Image: tumblr_oienq9Wex41tlgsf4o3_r1_540.png]
When paired with tr0018_00.smd

MALE MODEL

[Image: tumblr_oienq9Wex41tlgsf4o4_r1_540.png]
(Normal t-pose with the dae. file)

[Image: tumblr_oienq9Wex41tlgsf4o5_r1_540.png]
(T-pose with tr0017_00.smd)

[Image: tumblr_oienq9Wex41tlgsf4o6_r1_540.png]
(First frame of anim_0.smd when the file is applied)
i fixed part of the issue, I didn't need the original DAE file. I could have just retextured the smd with it. But now the hands are still jagged and the arms are inside out a little.

[Image: tumblr_oieve6vfZf1tlgsf4o1_540.png]
[Image: tumblr_oieve6vfZf1tlgsf4o2_540.png]
What program are you using? As it shouldn't be this hard to import SMD files.