The VG Resource

Full Version: Some new sprites I'm working on...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, working on a Test Mobile Game (using Game Maker and another online program), so I decided to make some simple test sprites using the Pixation app on iOS. This is my first time attempting to make sprites, so I based them off two classic 8-bit NES titles:

Ninja 1 (Legend of Zelda):

http://i.imgur.com/A5ZqsUd.gif

Ninja 2 (Mega Man):

http://i.imgur.com/9FVrXHj.gif

Any feedback will be appriecated, Wink!
The first one is definitely better, but needs work on its walking cycle. The body should bob up and down, and the arms should move. You can actually achieve the bobbing on a north/south view by simply shifting the sprite up and down when it's in its stepping frames. Also, remember to make the arms swing opposite to the legs, or else he'll look like he's waddling.

Quick note on ninjas: they don't wear armor. Armor would slow them down and make noise, and ninjas are meant to be fast and silent. Also, long swords wouldn't really be used by ninjas either; they prefer small, easily-concealed weapons, and only use them as a last resort. A better outfit would be something made of dark, cold-colored cloth, but not black, since black stands out in the moonlight. Green through violet are the preferred hues worn by ninjas, since they blend well at night.
(09-02-2014, 09:54 AM)Midi Wrote: [ -> ]The first one is definitely better, but needs work on its walking cycle. The body should bob up and down, and the arms should move. You can actually achieve the bobbing on a north/south view by simply shifting the sprite up and down when it's in its stepping frames. Also, remember to make the arms swing opposite to the legs, or else he'll look like he's waddling.