The VG Resource

Full Version: Highwire's Pixel Corner
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey all, this is where I'll be postin up my pixel art and stuffs I suppose. I'm a bit new to it and it probably shows xD
Would love any kind of criticism on my work since most of what I'm going to be posting up is for a game I'm working on.
Anyway, on with my work.

[Image: 9jxm.png]
I'd specifically like some feedback on the two numbered bushes as well as the analog sticks since I've been having trouble with them as of late, but I'll gladly take feedback on anything else.

Plus just a fake screenshot of sorts of how these fit together
[Image: swvg.png]
thats what I'm willing to put up right now, will post more once its made.
Your style is very unique, nice work! But bush number 2 looks like a green rock. But apart from that everything else looks great!
I think your using far too many shades of colours for the simplicity and size of your sprites.
the grass you could probably get a nicer bolder look with just 3 shades.
Your line work is over aliased and in the case of the bushes your shading is quite flat, you may want to look at other pixel works to get a hang of round surface shading.
@Laphos: Thanks a lot! I've come to that very same conclusion myself about bush 2. Perhaps I should save it for a green lit cavern or something ahaha.
@Bombshell93: I'd have to agree with you on that. I only just now realized that I broke my own color pallet limit with the vegetation after posting this. I feel so dumb ahaha.
I think my problem was that I wasn't making my pallets first before jumping into the creation process, so I ended up coming up with more colors than I needed. I'll watch out for it in the future. I'll also try out the 3 shades on the grass tomorrow when I get the chance!