The VG Resource

Full Version: ThomasSpeedrunner's Custom Sprite Gallery
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Well, this is where I post my custom sprites, I guess. Take a look around; ya might find something you like. While I honestly don't give two damns if you use anything you find in this gallery of mine, please, do give credit where credit is due.

Anywho, custom Time Stone sprites that I seriously need to work on. I'm still learning how to do this, so forgive the overall shittiness. I'm gonna try and improve these at some point.
[Image: 2ziw.png][Image: t8qb.png][Image: tecj.png][Image: d4og.png][Image: ryoi.png][Image: ybu1.png][Image: 0fh1.png]
Since I assume they're supposed to be shaped like Rupees, I'd suggest to get rid of the pillow shade and use solid colors for the shading. Kinda like this:
[Image: Rup.bmp]
Also, try to avoid using bright colors.
You are right, these do need serious work. While I honestly give two damns if you listen or not, here are some ways to improve them.

First, these sprites are banded and pillow shaded so far that they can apply as the definition of pillow shading and banding.

Pillow shading refers to the actual way you have shaded. You have shaded along the contours of your sprite without considering the shape
and volume of the sprite, which in result makes the sprite flat and the straight ramps of color blur the image.

Here is your sprite
[Image: emerald1.png]

here is a minor edit to clarify my point
[Image: emerald2.png]

As for your colors, you have a very straight MSpaint type of ramp; all of the colors are of the same hue and saturation making for a very bland sprite.
You need to shift these to give a little life to it.
here is a little hue shift on my edit.
[Image: emerald3.png]
There is very little hue shift, but it still adds a little more too it.