The VG Resource

Full Version: Manes' General Art Thread
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm not doing this at any deadline other than my want to finish this spriteset so that I could go back to playing a certain Pokémon fangame.

However, the subject I chose for this sprite mod puts a lot of weight on my shoulder. I'm just a novice who noticed a lack of a spriteset that I want, then decided she wanted to make one on her own for her own enjoyment.

(A novice who can't foreshorten in normal drawings, might I add.)

It would not be a problem if it was some self-insert or something. I didn't know what I was setting myself up for until I got to the VS sprite and got a request for the pose.

[Image: trainer0001x_zpscc5f67ad.png]

[Image: boy_walk1x_zpsef9e348d.png]

[Image: boy_run1x_zpsce22af17.png]

This is what I set myself up for.

Now. I decided to tackle the VS sprite next, but as I mentioned before, I can't do foreshortening in a real drawing. So I had to trace an existing screenshot. If you ask me to toss that out and do something else... who am I to judge? But then, this is for my own use... and one other person.

I derped and forgot to include what I had so far.

First off Don't present stuff on a transparent background
[Image: CXsIbmJ.png]
When we import it into Paint, It will give us a black background, which conflicts with some of the black pixels in the sprite.

Honestly the sprite is good in itself but I feel like the contrast between the head/hair and the tux is too prominent. Tone it down a bit
Oh, sorry. I'm new at presenting stuff. My usual tools are image manipulation programs, so... yeah.

Is the contrast too high? I figured it was fine for a darker Pokémon game. Anyway, perfect chance to tweak the hair a bit, too; ever since my grandfather mentioned it looked like an afro, I could not unsee it:

[Image: trainer0001xv2_zpsffc2813a.png]