The VG Resource

Full Version: Koh's Sprite Joint
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
No, you can't smoke this thread, don't even try Tongue.

I guess I should have my own general place where I can get some feedback on my work. As you all know, I'm an aspiring game developer, and have a few projects underway. However, I've mostly halted the other projects in favor of working on my own. There are two primary original projects I have going on at the moment, being World of Chaos 1: The Jewels of Life and World of Chaos 2: Kenta's Journey.

Here is a basic screenshot of what I have done so far with the new version World of Chaos 1. Some of you may remember the last time I worked on it a few months ago before I lost the data. Due to that, I've started from scratch, but it has also allowed me to make various changes and updates to my ideas for the game. So that said, here's an early preview screenshot; how does the graphical style look to you?

[Image: world_of_chaos_1___jewels_of_life_early_...6c54ti.png]

Just a note:
-I'm aware that the sky and panoramic backdrops are missing. I've yet to draw them, and have very little to no experience in doing so...so I'm basically putting it off for a bit while I build the base engine. Doing the code to get them to move around based on the screen is easy; actually drawing them is far more difficult o.o.
I like the style here, and I wish I could have played the last version of your game, It looked like it was shaping up to be a lot of fun.

As for critique, The eyes on that portrait kind of bug me as they are kind of.. bug eye. I'd suggest maybe squashing them a little bit, like this

[Image: koh.png]

Also, your dirt tiling is nice, but a little much, maybe make some tiles that fade the dirt to black, so your eyes don't have to process so much on