The VG Resource

Full Version: Personal openBOR Rushing Beat/Rival Turf project
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I figured it's about time I start showing off spriting artwork for a personal labor of love redoing the rushing beat series with a coherent narrative and general enhancements with the use of the openBOR community. This brawler from my childhood was one of my favorite and most memorable games I shared with my brother. And as an artist by profession I figured the only way it can happen is if I focus solely on the artistic side and have all artwork completed before seeking out coders who would be interested in helping in this endeavor in exchange for artistic skills on their projects. Or actually invest and hiring some.

The best thing about this Jaleco series is that it starts off as a forgettable simple final fight knock off to a complex original take on the brawler genre. So by doing these games in a row can offer a learning curve and maybe I'll actually learn the ends and outs of openBOR but since I'm mentally retarded when it comes to any kind of basic programming I'll most likely always need outside help.

My mission statement for Rushing beat Rival turf as I planned to combined both the Japanese and American titles. And as I stated before I plan to basically re-create the game using a majority of the original content graphics, sounds, music. Here's a list of things I plan to add as well as a story to connect all three games in English for the first time using what I know about the story through the Japanese versions and what me and my brother made up ourselves.
  • A female goon enemy
  • A brand new hand drawn level
  • A hand drawn female boss
  • More weapons, including firearms
  • Some new music
  • Two new playable characters, changing the 2 player dynamic too a 4 player.