The VG Resource

Full Version: Can someone make a BLB file extractor?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I recently started playing a game called The Neverhood, and I figured I might like to try and rip sprites from it sometime. Thing is, all of its resources are in BLB files, and although I found one or two tools that managed to actually do something with the files, the most they could really do was get sound files.

Usually I wouldn't ask for someone to make this since a big chunk would be finding out how the format's put together, but I found some documentation on the file type. From my knowledge this information is enough to be able to extract/decompress files, although I don't know a language that can do so.

So yeah, would someone be willing to do this? I'd only need it to decompress the image files, although if audio and other files wouldn't be too much work then that would obviously be a bonus.
In any case I'd be extremely grateful if someone could do this, just a command-line program would be more than enough.
Maybe this will help you. The guy in the third post explains how to use GAP to get the graphics, it seems. Smile
Already tried that, doesn't seem to work, I just get raw files that I don't know what to do with. He says that after you save them "the rest should be pretty obvious to follow", but I have no idea what he's talking about so there may be something I'm missing.

Thanks anyway though, appreciate it.
how long ago was that post? maybe you can get an account and PM him asking what he means?
Well it's from May 2010, so that's almost 3 years from now, and his latest post was in November 2012. I try to refrain from registering on forums (or anything) if it's not necessary, so if nobody does this request soon I'll do it. It'd be overall more handy if this tool can be made anyway.

Thanks for the suggestion though, hadn't thought of that.