The VG Resource

Full Version: Mandew's sprites (needs constructive criticism)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello.

I want to improve my spriting skills, and show a little bit of my own work!

OK so, here's the deal. I've been spriting for about 5 or 6 years, on and off. But I feel that my progress as becoming a good spriter is really slow nonetheless. That being said, I've improved a lot, but I want to keep improving is all. It's becoming quite a bit harder for me to improve the more I do it, though, so your help, encouragement and constructive criticism is very appreciated!

Anyways, here's my latest sprite sheets... A friend of mine told me to make my original characters in a style resembling Jump Ultimate Star for his sprite comic. Be aware that because those sprites are intended for comics, it only includes keyframes for now, and not whole animations.

Here ya go.

First character (his name is Mandew)
Second character (her name is Riley)
Third character (her name is Nancy; for now it's more design than anything else.)

Before anyone asks, those are totally custom, made from scratch, except for the palette. That's just the way I roll.
Have you put your sprite next to a real JUS style sprite. Because this doesn't look remotely close to a JUS sprite. Blank

For the first one,his torso just looks undefined and looks just like a square with arms. His hands looks like blocks with lines. Also, why does the hair constantly change through out the sprites? Same thing with the skin color and light source.
yeah, as Recolorme said, those aren't JUS styled at all. Actually if you showed them without ever mentioning JUS, it'd be better. But oh well