The VG Resource

Full Version: Making sprites for a birthday card, need help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So my friends birthday is coming up, and I'm making her a birthday card. I decided to make a whole bunch of sprites of characters from video games, anime etc. she likes. I'm not too bother about amazing quality, as I'm not very good at spriting. For the front of it, I made a pixel art of Deadpool from the recent trailer for the deadpool game, which came out terribly, but I don't really care XD. So far in regards to sprites, I have also made a deadpool sprite by adapting a Megaman sprite. I was wondering which other sprites would be easiest to adapt into particular characters? I'm not quite good enough to make sprites from scratch, and part of the humour is that she will hopefully recognize where I've adapted the sprites from. So the characters I still need to make are:
Italy(Hetalia)
Germany(Hetalia)
Japan(Hetalia)
Loki(Avengers)
Can't really think of any others...might add some later. Looking for 8-bit sprites, but if there isn't any appropriate ones, I would be willing to move up to 16-bit.
Thanks in advance!
Make them from scratch. It builds skill, and if it's a present the quality shouldn't matter but the thought. Don't edit Megaman characters, it's overdone and you'll just end up making something tacky. I know this isn't what you wanted to hear but it's what you should do. Everyone has to start somewhere so now is better than later, and on a final note please don't start with 8-bit. Everyone thinks 8-bit is something incredibly easy but in reality due to the restrictions it's actually quite hard and even harder to convert complex characters into. Better yet don't even think about "bits" just work on getting a handle on the basics before you even try to fit a particular style or set of restrictions.