The VG Resource

Full Version: GameDev Events Discussion
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
To spark activity in the GameDev section of tSR and really tSR as a whole I've been discussing GameDev events with the mods. Now I know GameDev events have been flops in the past, but back then I was running them without much community input. So here we go, feel free to C+C:

February 2012: Language Learning
The idea here is that we as a community choose a language that not many of us know or that many of us would like to know better. At the beginning of the month I list four apps, simple games like Pong or Rock Paper Scissors or even apps like a Dice Roller or Rich Text Editor. We all have that month to program one of the four apps.

Any ideas for a language?
I'm JUST getting started on C, and gamemaker would help, but if you guys have better programs to use, I'd love to learn!
One thing to note, the language shouldn't too hard, or one that takes too long to do simple tasks (unless we can agree on an easy to use library for that language) or else it would drive a lot of people away.

Another thing, those apps are boring. How about our objective is to make something like Pong, but with a twist.

Also, any rewards?
Java is always great with shittons to learn.

Along with good IDEs like Eclipse and NetBeans.
(Android APIs too, which is annoying too learn, but rewarding.)

Unless you want extreme simplicity like Turing or some other teaching language.
Free, too.
(Literally takes a week to learn graphics and basics, as it's literally English and is a terrific starting line)

There's also GML (Game Maker) for the sake of getting attention.
There are a lot of people who just straight up want to make games rather than learn programming altogether and really do avoid the nitty-gritty of programming.