The VG Resource

Full Version: OAM Viewer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all! I'm new to ripping sprites (to be honest, I'm still so new I've never done it!) and I don't have any idea where to begin. I've read a few articles around the interwebs and it seems like the best way is using VBA's OAM Viewer (I'm working on GameBoy Color games right now). However, I can't find a decent tutorial anywhere on how to use it.

I'm not sure I'm posting this is the correct thread but I couldn't find one that sounded appropriate, please feel free to relocate to the appropriataton if necessary.

Thanks for any help!
The OAM Viewer displays every sprite currently on-screen on its own for you to scroll through, and you can save them individually, so even sprites that are covered up by another can be ripped easily. Some large sprites will be in pieces though so you must save them all and put them together.

It's one of the best emulator tools in ripping history. But you can also disable layers and take screenshots of the sprites as well. But there's AnimGet for that. It may seem confusing at first seeing all these different "Viewer" tools and stuff but after working with it for some time you should get the hang of it. I wish you luck. Smile
This may be a completely stupid question then but, is there not a way to just pull all the sprites from a game automatically? I mean, you have to actually pull them as you play it? That seems EXTREMELY laborous.