The VG Resource

Full Version: DSMK2 - Novice comes
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Lo there, first post here! I'm a novice spriter whose only experience is with mechanical stuff and still images. I'm here since I don't know anyplace better to ask questions in regards to my spriting

I start off with this: I want to work on a game with all the elements I've been looking for but could never find, mainly as the main element, niche stuff.

So yes, I need help, critique and comments on the sprites that are there, and hopefully sprites to come.

[Image: secBot1.png]
This, is what I'm currently working on, a multipurpose cyborg body (comes with a one-handed anti-cyborg plasma cannon!) often found in use with private security companies. Please forgive me for the rough legs and or other parts of the sprite, they're pretty much going to be that way (rough) until I get the walk cycle as close to how I want it.

[Image: secBot12.gif]
This, is my first attempt at a walk cycle, for some reason it just, doesn't feel right for the cyborg, and I don't think I'm going about this the right way. Should I blame most of the problems on the body's lack of animation?
It's very hard to read. If you're going to make such a small sprite, make sure that you only show the character's most defining features.

About the animation: The legs seem to hop backwards - another frame, so the animation flows smoother, would be nice.
(05-29-2011, 06:32 AM)Alex IDV Wrote: [ -> ]It's very hard to read. If you're going to make such a small sprite, make sure that you only show the character's most defining features.

Er, mind if you point this out for me?
Ey, you're from DRLFF right?
What he means is that you are trying to fit in every single detail into such a small area, when only the objects prominent details should appear.
(05-29-2011, 05:35 PM)Thunder Toes Wrote: [ -> ]Ey, you're from DRLFF right?