The VG Resource

Full Version: Here goes something: My First Recolor - Critique Please
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Well, I've just started spriting, and I'm starting small. I decided to start by recoloring Adult Rydia from FF4, one of my favorite character's, sprite, and I decided to go with a 'light' rendition of her, editing it using GraphicsGale.

[Image: LightRydia.png]

Heres the original sprite I used.

[Image: Rydia.gif]

Go ahead and be blunt, I can take honest criticism. Heck, being an absolute newbie, I probably screwed up royally somewhere. But if you don't like my sprite, could you please tell me where I screwed up so I can avoid making the same mistake next time?
The biggest mistake here is that it's not custom. Recolors and edits are frowned upon very heavily(here anyways), the best advice anyone can really give you right now would be to make a completely custom sprite. No matter how awful it turns out, you'll benefit more from it.
Thanks for the advice. I'm just trying to just get basic skill in spriting at this point, and I figured a recolor would be a good place to start.
How would a recolor give even the least amount of skill though? Maybe re-shading, but recoloring?
I'm not defending recolouring, but it could give you the ability to put down colours that go together well.
Although, making custom sprites would do the same thing.