The VG Resource

Full Version: Custom Tileset
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
This is a tileset I started a while back that has been gathering dust ever since. I think it has a lot of potential, but at the moment its not so great.
I'd like to complete this, and maybe move on to some new, different sets, but I'm new to this and I need your input.
[Image: th_CityTileset-1.png]
The shingled rooftops are an obvious problem.
I also haven't been using a set color scheme, and don't know where to start coming up with one.
Please point out any problems you see, and maybe some tips on how I could fix this up.
I swear to god I've seen this before; ages ago.

Your stairs don't tile correctly or seamlessly.
Nor do the stone slabs. you've got these ugly horizontal bands going on.
The shading on the trees lack contrast, same with the barrels/crates.
The colour palette in general could do with a reset - don't select shades by simply lightenting/darkening the base colour - the resulting effect is indistinct.
Everything Grooveman said, plus the clock really needs fixing up. It's very jagged. Make the circle from scratch rather than using the circle tool, it'll come out much nicer.
@Grooveman.exe: yes, horizontal lines are being worked on right now. And thanks for the tip with the shading, that makes a lot of sense.

@Devicho: yeah, the clock is terrible. I used Gamemaker's rotation tool to move the hand around, and I used the circle tool to outline the clock. I'll definitely be redoing the whole clock-tower bit, clock included.
Here's a quick update
[Image: th_CityTilesetUpdate.png]
I set up the buildings to have a separate layer for the bricks, to save space. I then filled that space up with changes to the stairs, to help them fit together correctly. I also changed the brickwork, and they now flow correctly as well.