The VG Resource

Full Version: Where I submit my files
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Alright, now that I completed my Gummi Ship model, I think it's about time to send it to the site! The link for the OBJ file is below and I'll supply the screenshots!

http://rapidshare.com/files/396839222/Gu...p.obj.html

(Note: I'm kind of new at file hosting sites, so I'm not sure if the above link would actually work. If it doesn't, can you show me an image hosting site that is reliable and very easy to use?)

[Image: Gummiship1-1.png?t=1276022401]

[Image: Gummiship2-1.png?t=1276022450]

[Image: Gummiship3-1.png?t=1276022487]

[Image: Gummiship4-1.png?t=1276022547]

By the way, I didn't use real textures on this ship. I only used colored lambert textures. Also, this is my first time actually submitting something, so if I goof up a little, try not to be upset. Once you find everything acceptable, I'll get to work right away on the icon!
Pretty good ship. Just a few things I wanna say about it. First, pull the turret hole a bit further out so it shows up correctly in other programs. Next, the back thrusters should either be two sided or have an inside because as it is right now you can see right through them to the back of the ship. Lastly, the .OBJ needs a .MTL accompanying it to get the colors to show up on import.

I'm not trying to be harshly critical, but just like TSR I'd like to maintain a certain level of quality on this site. Its not bad by any means, but there are a few things that could really be fixed that I mentioned above.
I can understand the problems for the cannon, but why should the engines have problems? When I look at them on my OBJ file, it looks perfectly fine! Plus, I thought I already made it double sided!

Also, how on earth am I supposed to make a MTL file anyway? It's not one of the Maya export options!