The VG Resource

Full Version: Slissith's nooby sprites
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi there. The name's Slissith. I recently joined this forum having heard of it as a spriter place. I'm not really good at spriting, I do it as a hobby as it's really fun.

Here's a Dry Bones sprite I've working on recently.

[Image: DryBones.png] The thorax has been changed,but you can still see the old one.

The head is taken from a Google Images found sprite. It was however, reshaded entirely.

The shell and the thorax are mine completely (you can tell, can't you?)

The hands and feet were taken from the M and L sprite next to mine but they were reshaded entirely as well.

Well, rate/comment/love/hate(not recommended)/flame(not recommended either) Away!
Uhhh.
Only Insects have thoraxes, as far as I can recall. Just say 'chest' or 'abdomen'

Since you actually have a reference sprite here, it should be clearer what colours and shading patterns would be sensible. Look at the chest you've drawn, and the reference sprite. See how they differ?
(05-27-2010, 06:24 PM)GrooveMan.exe Wrote: [ -> ]Uhhh.
Only Insects have thoraxes, as far as I can recall. Just say 'chest' or 'abdomen'

Since you actually have a reference sprite here, it should be clearer what colours and shading patterns would be sensible. Look at the chest you've drawn, and the reference sprite. See how they differ?

Unless it is different in English, in here it makes sense to say thorax- the thorax is the "box" made of bones enclosuing the lungs and heart. Since Dry Bones is a skeleton, he doesn't have a chest, but a thorax.
Oh right? Fair enough, I stand corrected.
having such a reference, all i could suggest you at this point is to work more on the outline, so it would actually resemble the original character,

WITHOUT tracing it. just try to mimic it by eye.
@GrooveMan.exe