The VG Resource

Full Version: General spriting question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm a programmer, working on my first full featured game. It's a simple 2D sidescroller - platformer. It'll look and play similarly to megaman.

I know there are tools out there for spriting (I did look at the resources I promise!) however, I am trying to edit and adjust pre-existing sprite sheets. Some sheets are made in such a way that they show all the poses for a character, but they're not really conducive for using them for games. because there's no organization. Are there any easy ways to adjust them? I've tried doing it manually with gimp, but man it's a pain! I realize that if it's the only way, then my best options to either to man up and do it in gimp or to just rip the sprites myself and make a new sprite sheet.

Any suggestions?
well
i'd assume what you mean by "doing it in gimp" is taking the sprites and organzing them in strips/sheets or .gifs yourself

if so, yes, that's the only way to do it
you can try other programs but you'd essentially be doing the exact same thing
Yes. There is no "sprite sheet arranger" program. You have to do it yourself.
And it's a big pain in the ass, what with having to know each frame size and the sprites being inconsistently placed.

It makes some of them unusable.
To be honest, as much of a pain in the ass as it is, the best way would be for the rippers themselves to arrange them correctly before submission.

Chances are that that will never become standard, though.
What about A.J. Nitro's star spirit sheet? That was organized really well, I was honestly surprised when I saw that.

And those sheet's I ripped are organized quite nicely.
I'm not saying nobody does it, I'm saying that chances are correct arrangement for animations to match will never be a submission rule here.