Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
HD/Hi-Rez Sprites?
I tried an attempt at a Hi-Rez sprite of Sonic.

C+C please, as it's my first time.

2x Resolution:
[Image: SonicHD.png]

1. I know it looks pillowed in a lot of places, specifically on the skin colored areas. This is because I was trying to more or less match the shading on the original, and it looks just as pillow-y.
2. The black lines are staying.

I know there are a few things wrong with it, but I'm not sure exactly what to do to fix them. Edits are welcome to show me what's wrong.
[Image: ndsMEF0.gif][Image: sig.gif]
Thanked by:
I don't like the part where the arm meets the glove it feels wrong, try getting the dark colors of there to make it blend more.
Beside that the only other problem I can see is the pillow shading but that's about it.
~~LOVE~~
~~SOLINK~~PK~~C2B~~KAIKIMI~~
[Image: Boggle_inside_a_futuristic_pod_by_Mabelma.png]

Have some time, check out my tumblr blog.
Thanked by:
Hhm... Like if the gloves were .... Under fat in his arms or something...

I messed ut a little with is.... it is not VERY good, but i redone a LITTLE of everything. Like Removing SOME of the black outline.

Attached Files Image(s)

Sorry for my mistakes on english, people..... I am Brazilian, and to worsen that... i learnt english playing Final Fantasy and asking my mother.

EDIT: Now, 4 years have passed, and I`m an english teacher. Heart
Thanked by:
Hueshifting isn't the solution to everything, i'm afraid. The lines are still awkward and jaggy in places.

'Shark, focus on getting smoother curves for the spines, and using more (or darker) shades of wite/grey to get the detailing on the hand.

Oh, and retro sonic has black eyes, not green.
Thanked by:
I think a lot of smoothing is needed. Look at the Sonic HD sprites for guidance.
[Image: randomimage.cgi]
Thanked by:
That's because the Sonic HD sprites aren't sprites. They're vectors. I'm making a large sprite, not a vector.