Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Blue Knight (Castle Crashers) (WIP)
Video 
It's my first time spriting in well over a year... So before I went out of my way to make a bigger sheet, I wanted to see what people thought of what I planned to make it look like:

[Image: BlueKnightCC.png]

I noticed there was a lack of Castle Crashers sprites online, and the ones I found were either bad quality or lacking poses to make them useful. Not exactly trying to make Blue Knight in any particular style, just wanted to make a good sheet and palette swap him to make the other three knights. I'm open to all C+C!
[Image: 15n4y7s.png]
Thanked by:
You're using too many colors - you could probably get away with 6 colors or so. Try merging your color ramps and cutting down on the number of colors you're using, especially in the blue and yellow.
Thanked by: Garamonde
(07-24-2011, 09:35 PM)masquerain Wrote: You're using too many colors - you could probably get away with 6 colors or so. Try merging your color ramps and cutting down on the number of colors you're using, especially in the blue and yellow.

Thanks, I'll try to work on that. When I first started coloring it in I tried using less colors, but it had more of an 8-bit/not-so-decently-shaded vibe to it. I have a pretty bad habit of shading a ton on drawings, so I guess it just kinda carried over with spriting as well haha. Thanks again though!

EDIT: Is this a little better? I would get rid of the darkest shade of blue, but the edges turn out a little weird (EG: Shield against head, sword against shield)
[Image: BlueKnightCC-1.png]
Thanked by: megaMasquerain
If just getting rid of it looks weird, try combining it and the darkest shade of yellow. You're using yellow for one part of the sprite only, really, so it shouldn't look too bad if you replace it.
Thanked by:
Like this?
[Image: BlueKnightCC-2.png]
Thanked by:
Well, I meant just combining the darkest yellow shade with the darkest blue shade, but that doesn't look too bad.